Alpha Black Paintball
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomePortalLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Ticks and Lyme disease

Go down 
+3
DUNK-ALMIGHTY
Brock
StormShadowz
7 posters
AuthorMessage
StormShadowz
Black Ops
Black Ops

Ticks and Lyme disease Empty
PostSubject: Ticks and Lyme disease   Ticks and Lyme disease EmptySat Apr 07, 2012 11:17 am

For all you woodsballers...

Tick season is upon us, and we play in their habitat.

Here is some useful information on Lyme Disease and Ticks. All this information is directly copied from various medical-type websites. I am not a health professional. There is tons of info relating to Lyme disease and ticks.
The Great Imitator” ravages patients with at least 39 symptoms that make the infection difficult to diagnose. The similarity of Lyme symptoms to those caused by lupus, lymphatic cancer, multiple sclerosis, chronic fatigue syndrome, HIV-AIDS, fibromyalgia, depression and other serious illnesses vexes doctors. Those who haven’t kept up with developments in Lyme research often write their patients off as hypochondriacs.

Ticks and Lyme disease Lymebite
go see the doctor

Ticks and Lyme disease 180px-BullseyeLymeDiseaseRash
go see the doctor

Ticks and Lyme disease DeetTickCoin2
Clockwise from top: female, male, larval, nymph

Ticks and Lyme disease DeerTickGroup
DEER TICK Left to Right: un-engorged female, 1/4 engorged, 1/2 engorged and fully engorged. Note the circular dark spot above the mouthpart; this is the shield. The shield does not change as the tick engorges and it is the key component, along with mouthparts in identifying different ticks

Ticks and Lyme disease BrownDogGroup

BROWN DOG TICK The engorged deer tick is often confused with the brown dog tick; here is the same photo series so you can compare the two species. Although the shield appears dark and similar in shape the shorter mouthparts of the brown dog tick are easy to identify.